Home > Theresian Family > Departments > Mother Tongue Languages

Mother Tongue Languages

Mother Tongue Languages.jpg





















Seated: Mr Loh Chiu Wai, Mdm Goh Kwee Lay (HOD Mother Tongue) Mr Natarajan Saravanan 
Back Row: Mdm Koh Gek Khim, Mdm Haslinda Binte Ramat, Mdm Zhang Haiying, Mdm Sim Hoon Kuan, Ms Li Yangping, Mdm Veronica Nair
Not in the picture: Mrs Cerise Xu, Ms Clarise Wong, Mdm Raihanah Beevi

"The best teachers teach from the heart, not from the book."


Mission 

To provide quality Mother Tongue education where all work together for the promotion of ‘Teaching is for Learning and Learning is for Understanding and Appreciation ‘.

Vision
A school community of Confident and Passionate MT Leaders and Learners.


Department Goals 
To develop Theresian graduates who are articulate and able to use MT for effective communication.
To develop in students an ability to articulate verbally and in writing, their responses to the various genres they will be exposed to.
To develop in students a genuine appreciation for MT culture and heritage.


Staff


Head of Department

Mdm Goh Kwee Lay (goh_kwee_lay@moe.edu.sg)


Department Staff


Chinese Language

Mrs Cerise Xu (chiew_shuqin_cerise@moe.edu.sg)

Ms Clarise Wong (wong_lam_ni_clarise@moe.edu.sg)

Mdm Koh Gek Khim (koh_gek_khim@moe.edu.sg)

Ms Li Yangping (li_yangping@moe.edu.sg)

Mr Lim Chii Tee (lim_chii_tee@moe.edu.sg)

Mr Loh Chiu Wai (loh_chiu_wai@moe.edu.sg)

Mr Wong Chee Leong (wong_chee_leong@moe.edu.sg)

Mdm Zhang Hai Ying (zhang_haiying@moe.edu.sg)


Malay Language

Mdm Haslinda Bte Ramat (haslinda_ramat@moe.edu.sg)

Mdm Veronica Nair (veronica_nair_mohan_nair@moe.edu.sg)


Tamil Language

Mr Natarajan Saravanan (natarajan_saravanan@moe.edu.sg)

Mdm Raihanah Beevi (raihanah_beevi@moe.edu.sg)


MT Enrichment Programme seeks to achieve the following objectives

(1)  create an immersive environment for the learning and appreciation of MT
(2)   provide a platform for students to actively learn MT and its associated culture
(3)   provide authentic opportunities for students to extend their MT learning experience beyond the textbook

 

Programmes and Activities:

·         Chinese New Year , Hari Raya Puasa , Deepavali 

·         Workshops – traditional arts , movie critique,   song writing, GCE ‘O’ level prep

·         Quizzes –  tradition, festivals, idioms, proverbs

·         Drama / dance performance by professional

·         Learning Journey – China Town, Little India,  Geylang Serai/ Kampong Glam

·         Conversational Chinese /Malay Programme for Sec 1 & 2

 

Useful Links